Recipe

Pickles!

Since we had so many cucumbers from our first harvest, we made pickles! To do this, I roughly followed Tammy Gulgren’s recipe for refrigerator pickles. These are the ingredients I used:DSC_1138.JPG

  • 4 c water
  • 1 3/4 c vinegar
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T salt
  • 6 whole cucumbers, speared and halved.
  • 1 large clove garlic

 
I washed the cucumbers, cut off the ends, and cut them again into half-spears. I chopped one large clove ofDSC_1146.JPG garlic, and I divided the cucumbers and the garlic between two mason jars. Then, I brought the water, vinegar, salt, and sugar to a boil and let it cool before filling each jar with the solution. I sealed the jars and labeled the lids with their canning date and what they are (But I’ll know, of course!).
I’ll have to wait a week before I can eat them, and I hope the wait is worth it! Until then, I wait patiently and look out for more cucumbers!

DSC_1147.JPG

Leave a Reply

